Tour’s Books Blog

September 1, 2009

In Retrospect – Part Two: The Keeper Shelf – The Price of Cleaning

My taste in books is widely eclectic, even though it seems I review a lot of erotic romance.  I think I do it because the usual romance sites largely ignore it, other than a few authors, in favor of mainstream romance and those dreadful ‘category’ romances from Harlequin that are so very popular.  Or maybe that’s because the vast majority are quick easy reads – or so tedious I skim.  The year is far from over and the fall is a big release period for publishers looking to cash in on people’s holiday spending, but I’ve been editing my selves.

I have hundreds of books, mostly hardcover, on my bookshelves.  Hundreds more piled about.  I need space, so time to edit the keepers and reference books I haven’t used in over a decade.  Cookbooks are rarely on the discard pile, but history is, along with literature and many old series – from David Eddings’ The Mallorean to Stuart Woods’ Stone Barrington novels – I have no interest in rereading.  Keeper shelves are mostly a matter of taste, and tastes change, or the reader’s wants change, and books get dated or supplanted by something even better.  I find I have to edit my keeper self, but I confess I have enough book selves (a whole wall) that I keep far too many.  I hate getting rid of books, but it MUST be done. (more…)

Blog at WordPress.com.