Tour’s Books Blog

September 1, 2009

In Retrospect – Part Two: The Keeper Shelf – The Price of Cleaning

My taste in books is widely eclectic, even though it seems I review a lot of erotic romance.  I think I do it because the usual romance sites largely ignore it, other than a few authors, in favor of mainstream romance and those dreadful ‘category’ romances from Harlequin that are so very popular.  Or maybe that’s because the vast majority are quick easy reads – or so tedious I skim.  The year is far from over and the fall is a big release period for publishers looking to cash in on people’s holiday spending, but I’ve been editing my selves.

I have hundreds of books, mostly hardcover, on my bookshelves.  Hundreds more piled about.  I need space, so time to edit the keepers and reference books I haven’t used in over a decade.  Cookbooks are rarely on the discard pile, but history is, along with literature and many old series – from David Eddings’ The Mallorean to Stuart Woods’ Stone Barrington novels – I have no interest in rereading.  Keeper shelves are mostly a matter of taste, and tastes change, or the reader’s wants change, and books get dated or supplanted by something even better.  I find I have to edit my keeper self, but I confess I have enough book selves (a whole wall) that I keep far too many.  I hate getting rid of books, but it MUST be done.

Here are the results of my latest assault on the shelves.

Series Books: (mostly hardcover (HC) or trade paperback (TB))

Made the cut:

Meg Langslow mysteries by Donna Andrews – just made the cut, but sit at the top of the hit list for the next round HC

Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters – like the Meg Langslow books, these are on the bubble.

John Rain series by Barry Eisler – they stay and I’m trying to replace his early books with HC

Jack Reacher books by Lee Child – even the bad ones stay, for now, and looking for the early titles in HC

SPQR series by John Maddox Roberts – stay and are secure TP and HC

Marcus Didius Falco series Lindsey Davis – they stay HC

Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee mysteries by Tony Hillerman – they stay HC

Ice series by Anne Stuart – made it for now

Easy and Loose series by Tara Janzen – made it for now

Doc Ford series by Randy Wayne White – stay for now

Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich – even the bad ones stay

Gabriel Allon series by Daniel Silva – stay for now

The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan – though I gave up on reading them, I might finish some day

Out the door

Love at Stake by Kerrelyn Sparks – first half gone and remainder TBR

The Others by Christine Warren – out, but I’m keeping the print copy of Fantasy Fix TB collectible

Bound Hearts by Lora Leigh – out TP (with one exception)

Stone Barrington and other series by Stuart Woods – out HC

Sean Dillion series by Jack Higgins – out HC

Argeneau Vampires by Lynsay Sands – all but 2 titles are out

All the cutsie cozy mysteries, many HC too.  Including Diane Mott Davidson, JoAnne Fluke, Jill Chruchill, Joan Hess, etc.

Most of my romance, especially historical romance

Marliss Melton – her seals are good, but won’t be reread

Many mysteries, action thriller, spy and suspense novels – including those I liked but just won’t reread

Erotica that made the cut:

Bianca D’Arc – I kept her Dragon Knights books and Lords of the Were and a print copy of Inferno is on my wishlist at Amazon

Tielle St Claire – Kept her Dragon Mate series

Shelley Laurenston – most titles are very secure, even anthologies with just 1 Laurenston story TP – In all fairness, I do NOT consider her books ‘erotic romance’ even though they are usually sold and marketed to that group

Lauren Dane – those titles I’ve been able to track down in the Witches Knot series by are on the keeper shelf as is Enforcer and a few others from when she wrote for Ellora’s Cave.

Jenny Penn – Kept her Sea Island Wolves and Deception; didn’t bother buying her others in print

Lara Santiago – Menagerie, The Tiburon Duet and I wish I had more in print, but I own mostly ebooks.

Kaitlyn O’Connor – Cyborg Nation series

Madelyn Montague – Wolfen, Call of the Wolf and Hunger of the Wolf

Susie Charles – The Were Watching books and I’d love to find a print copy of Velvet Ties;  Wish I knew what happened to her because I’ve seen nothing new for awhile and I was hoping for more Were Watching books

Fantasy Fix by Christine Warren; I’m not keeping this because it’s so good, but because it’s collectable

Lora Leigh – I have saved a few of her Breeds books and Wizard Twins books – a series I wish she finished and Forbidden Pleasure, the only Bound Hearts book on my keeper shelf

Jory Strong – Select titles in Supernatural Mates, Crime Tells, and Fallon Mates series

On the bubble:

Kimberly Zant – Surrender, but her other stuff is out the door; It’s the only 1 of hers I have left

James Lear – The Back Passage – it’s really good and I have re-read it, but I just have others I like better

Authors I find I don’t keep:

Maya Banks – though do want print copies of her Falcon Mercenary Group

Lora Leigh – Those I buy, I rarely keep, but mostly I don’t buy anymore

Nicole Austin – I actually stopped buying her in print

Trista Ann Michaels – Like Nichole Austin, rarely buy print

Actually, I keep very few contemporary romances of any type.

Most anthologies are gone, even the good ones

Most of my erotic romance is bought in ebook, not print.  Still, I will often buy print as well with the ones I like most, but full novels only.  There are many titles not in print that I just LOVE!

I’ll publish my all time Keeper List – including ebooks – at a later date.  The Keepers are books of all genres are just the best reading and the ones I turn to to remind me just how good a book can be.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

