Tour’s Books Blog

March 17, 2009

What’s On Order at Amazon

Filed under: Editorial,General — toursbooks @ 7:29 pm
Tags: ,

OK – I admit I’m semi-addicted to Amazon’s 4-for-3 promotion and this has led to a backlog of books.  On top of that, I have a ‘wish list’ that’s 3 pages and growing.  Today, some of the new releases I’ve been waiting for were out, so ORDER TIME!  Two hardcover’s,  Barry Eisler’s Fault Line and Randy Wayne White’s latest Doc Ford novel, Dead Silence.  Well, I can’t just buy 2 books, can I?  No I can’t.  So while I’m sitting around waiting for a whole bunch of other releases, I figured I’d try a few new authors.

WoodWitchDame – author Melanie Nowak – started a thread on the Amazon Paranormal Romance forum and listed authors by the kind of books they write.  So I went looking for some ‘light paranormal’ and found Happy Hour at Casa Dracula by Marta Acosta.  On my Wish List it went along with 2 more of her books – but neither of those were in the 4-for-3, so they didn’t make it to the cart, but stayed on the ‘wish list’.  Christina Dodd wasn’t a 4-for-3 either, but her latest installment in the ongoing Manly family, Danger in a Red Dress, went in the cart.  Trouble in Mudbug went because I liked Deleon’s two previous books and her’s was in the promotional program.  The first two books in the Stephanie Bonds’ Body Movers series made the cut as did an Avon Romantic Treasure book – In Bed With the Devil by Lorraine Heath.  Welcome to the Grave, a PI novel by Michael Koryta and a LoveSpell book (a rare thing for me) Weddings Can be Murder, a romantic suspense book by Christie Craig.

Nine paperbacks and 2 hardcovers later, I have my books for the next few weeks to go on the TBR pile.  In the meantime, I’m struggling to get interested in Ben Pastor’s The Water Thief.  Thirty pages in and I’ve read three books in between because I got so sick of, “To Emperor Gaius Aurelius Valerius Diocletian Pius Felix Invictus Augustus, his Aelius Spartianus, greetings.  In obedience to Your Divinity’s command, I have delivered letters and sealed orders to Epidius Censorinus, commander of the garrison of Antinoopolis, and to Rabirius Saxa, epistrategos of the Heptanomia and representative of Clodius Culcianus, praefectus Aegypti.”  The excitement was just too much.  I have to finish Mayhem in High Heels by Gemma Halliday and I think Gennita Low is calling me with Into Danger instead.  The Water Thief will have to wait.

PS – In the interests of full disclosure, I will confess I also have two not yet released books on order at Barnes and Nobel – I had an additional 15% off coupon I wanted to use.  Revenge of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz and the long awaited (by me anyway) return of Myron Bolitar in Harlen Coben’s Long Lost.

My name is Tourmaline Groundhog and I’m addicted to books.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

